Final round of South-West candidate filing is closed

Just prior to the primary polls closing Aug. 14, candidate filing for races that do not hold primaries came to an end.

The South St. Paul School Board has four seats on the ballot this year. Running to hold onto their seats are incumbents Wendy Woods Felton, Kristie Hood and Chris Walker. 

They’ll be challenged by Bill Arend, Kara Beckman, Katherine Delsing, Linda Diaz, Ann Schultz Counihan, Marjorie Stewart and Monica Weber.

 Lilydale Mayor Warren Peterson is running for another term and is unopposed. Council incumbents John Diehl and Anita Pampusch will face Jay Budge and Daniel Gore for the two city council seats on the ballot. 

There is also a special election for council member and Lyle Hanzal, the incumbent, is the only person in the race. Hanzal was appointed to fill a Lilydale council vacancy in 2017. 

In Mendota, there’ll be two seats on the ballot and two people are running. Incumbent Mayor Brian Mielke and incumbent council member Melody Rasmussen will both be unopposed in the November election.

Mendota Heights Mayor Neil Garlock will face Jill Smith in the city’s mayoral election. There are two council seats on the November ballot, and incumbent council members Ultan Duggan and Elizabeth Petschel are hoping to hold onto them. Their opponents will be John Mazzitello, Rachel Quick, Chadwick Vandarious and Johnathan Zagel. 

For Sunfish Lake, the only name on the mayoral ballot will be Dan O’Leary, who took over as mayor when Richard Williams moved out of the city earlier this year. A special election will be held to fill O’Leary’s former council seat, and Shari Hansen is the only candidate who filed for it. Two other council seats will be on the ballot, and incumbents Mike Hovey and JoAnne Wahlstrom are the only people who filed for them.

Election Day is Nov. 6. For more information or to find your polling place, visit 


— Hannah Burlingame

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here