Bulletin area election 2016 results

Brenda Holden

Dave McClung

Steve Scott

Sue Denkinger

Emy Johnson

Sandy Martin

Carol Mueller

Incumbents stay in the political game

While much of the nation was watching a nail-biting vote count for the presidential election late into Election Night — and into the early morning — Bulletin area state, county and municipal votes were also being calculated. Bulletin area voters cast their ballots Nov. 8. Below is a rundown of the results.


Arden Hills

Voters in Arden Hills lengthened the leadership of city council members Brenda Holden and Dave McClung. Holden, 59, won 2,353 votes, or about 31 percent, while McClung, 47, garnered 2,372 votes, or roughly 30 percent. Both will be holding onto their seats.

Holden has served on the council for more than 14 years. McClung has served on the council a total of eight years with a break from 2010 to 2013. 

The two incumbents won by a significant margin, but the closest runner up was Dan Burns with 1,212 votes or about 16 percent. Tania Dreon fell closely behind Burns with about 15 percent of the vote.

Arden Hills also held a special election for a third seat on the council. With just over 62 percent of the vote, or 2,304 votes, Steve Scott, 64, won the seat, which has been occupied by Jonathan Wicklund, who was appointed to the council to replace the late Robert Woodburn, who died in October 2015. While Wicklund decided not to run to retain his seat, Scott wasn’t alone on the ballot — his opponent, Nicholas Tamble, received 1,342 votes, or just over 36 percent of the vote.

Scott will serve a two-year term.


Mounds View

Two terms on the Mounds View City Council will expire at the end of the year. The two council members who currently hold those seats — Sherry Gunn and Gary Meehlhause — ran for re-election without opposition. Gunn,was reelected with 3,661 votes, Meehlhlause with 3,508 votes, and 160 votes were cast toward write-in candidates.

The contested mayoral race ended with a victory for current council member Carol Mueller.

She was elected to replace Mayor Joe Flaherty, who did not seek another term after eight years in office.

Mueller received 3,558 votes or 66 percent of the vote, and was faced by 37-year-old Shauna Bock, who received about half as many votes.

While Mueller did not respond to requests for comment in time for publication, in an email Bock said, “What a terrific experience it’s been” and thanked her supporters. 

“I think the people of Mounds View will see my name somewhere again in the future,” Bock added, but specified she was not interested in filling the council seat Mueller will be vacating.  

The 62-year-old Mounds View mayor-elect recently retired from Target’s finance division after a 35-year career with the corporation. Mueller holds an associate’s degree in accounting from Indianhead Technical Institute and is married to Dan.

Mueller’s unexpired council term will open up in January. According to Mounds View city administrator Jim Ericson, a special election will be arranged to fill the remaining two years of the term sometime after the beginning of the new year.



Shoreview’s mayoral candidate and longtime incumbent ran without opposition. Mayor Sandy Martin received 12,670 votes, more than 97 percent of the vote. Some 305 votes were attached to the write-in category. Martin, 73 and retired, was first elected Shoreview’s mayor in 1996.

The City Council race had six candidates pitted against each other for two seats opening up come 2017. Those seats are currently held by Emy Johnson and Ady Wickstrom. Wickstrom decided to opt out of seeking another term, but Johnson, 45, vied to keep her seat, and won, receiving 6,061 votes, or nearly 29 percent of the vote. Sue Denkinger will be joining her on the council, filling the other seat. Denkinger, 61, won 4,908 votes, or over 23 percent of the vote.

The next closest in the race was Steve Solomonson, who received 4,013 votes, or about 19 percent of the vote, coming up short against Denkinger and Johnson.


Congress and county

U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, a DFLer, won her ninth term, beating Republican challenger Greg Ryan 58 percent to 34 percent in the 4th Congressional District race. Legal Marijuana Now Party Candidate Susan Pendergast Sindt won 27,000 votes, or 8 percent of the vote.

In a re-match of 2012, Ramsey County District 2 Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire beat Sue Jeffers for a second term on the county board. County District 2 encompasses New Brighton, Mounds View’s fourth precinct, St. Anthony’s Ramsey County portion, Little Canada and Roseville.

Though McGuire, 60, won her first term on the board by a margin of roughly 1,000 votes, this time around, she won by a margin of nearly 4,000 votes, retaking her seat with 55 percent of the vote to Jeffers’ 44 percent.

Those who cast a vote for Ramsey County District 1 — made up of Arden Hills, Shoreview, Gem Lake, North Oaks, Vadnais Heights, White Bear Township and parts of Mounds View, Spring Lake Park and Blaine — had fewer candidates to pick from as Commissioner Blake Huffman, 51 was running for his second term on the board unchallenged. 

Huffman, of Shoreview, won more than 98 percent of the vote, while a mere 445 of 30,824 votes went to the write-in category. 


Jesse Poole can be reached at jpoole@lillienews.com or at 651-748-7815.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here