Newly elected officials taking seats

This year’s Election Day is Nov. 6.


As 2018 lurches away from its frozen starting line, newly elected and incumbent city council and school board members are taking their seats.

In Falcon Heights, newcomer council members Melanie Leehy and Mark Miazga are beginning their four-year terms. The two are replacing Tony Fischer and Pamela Harris on the council. Harris chose not to seek reelection, while Fischer came in fourth place in the seven-person race this past fall.

New Brighton is welcoming Mayor Val Johnson back for a second term, along with new council members Graeme Allen and Emily Dunsworth. The two are taking over the seats previously held by Gina Bauman and Brian Strub. Strub opted not to run, Bauman came in third place in the five-way council race with 19 percent of the vote.

The incumbents held on in St. Anthony’s first competitive city council election since 2011 — council members Jan Jenson and Randy Stille will continue in their posts. They’ll do so alongside just-appointed council member Thomas Randle, who was picked by the council post-election to fill the seat vacated by Bonnie Brever, who resigned last August.

Incumbent Marre Jo Sager held her seat on the Mounds View Public School Board, and is joined by newly elected members Diane Glasheen and Shauna Bock.

Roseville Area School Board incumbents Kitty Gogins and Frank Shaw are joined by new member Curtis Johnson.

On the St. Anthony New-Brighton School Board, incumbents Barry Kinsey and Laura Oksnevad are being joined by newcomer Leah Slye.


Looking ahead

With 2018’s races for state and national offices already taking shape, this year’s election could reshape the city councils in a number of Bulletin and Roseville Review area cities.

The stakes are the same for six of the communities covered by the papers — Arden Hills, Lauderdale, Little Canada, Mounds View, Roseville and Shoreview. The majority of each city’s five-person city council will be up for election; each will elect two council members and a mayor.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6.


—Mike Munzenrider

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here