Candidate filing closes for South-West area school board elections

Candidate filing closed Aug. 15 and two South-West area school districts have school board seats up for election in November.

Inver Grove Heights Community Schools District 199 has three board seats on the ballot. 

Michael Casello, Joe Harms, Todd Kruse, Carrie Lounsberry, Cindy Nordstrom, Lynette Stensgard, Ryan Walfoort and Fred Yerke are vying for the seats. 

Nordstrom and Stensgard are the only current board members running for reelection. 

West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan School District 197 has three board seats up for election and the ballot is filled with incumbents. John Chandler, Stephanie Levine and Maureen Ramirez are all running unopposed for reelection.

Chandler has served on the board since 2012. He lives in Mendota Heights and works for Dodge Nature Center.

Levine is completing her first term on the board. Ramirez was appointed to the board in December of 2016 to fill the seat opened by Matt Klein being elected to the State Senate. 

ISD 199 will also have two bond questions on the ballot, and South St. Paul Public Schools will have two bond questions for residents to vote on, as well.

Election Day is Nov. 7.


— Hannah Burlingame

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here