Three Pioneers make Ms. Hockey, senior goalie semifinals

When the semifinalists for the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year awards were announced late last month, the lists definitely had a hint of Hill-Murray in them. Three Pioneers were among the 20 names.

Laura Anderson and Mekenzie Steffen were named to the Ms. Hockey semifinalist list and Mari Johnson was one of the senior goalie semifinalists.

Hill-Murray tied Minnetonka for the most semifinalists. Breck, with two goalie nominees, was the only other school with more than one semifinalist.

Anderson is a forward who is headed to the Ivy League next year. She is set to attend and play hockey at Yale.

Steffen, a defenseman, is staying in the Midwest as she’ll play at Wisconsin next season.

Johnson has yet to decide on a college.

Hill-Murray has had one winner for each of the awards. Hannah Brandt was Ms. Hockey in 2012 and Emily Brookshaw won the goalie award in 2004.

The winner of both awards will be announced at a banquet on Feb. 21 at the RiverCentre in St. Paul. 

—Brian Meyers

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here