Candidates file for municipal offices, Little Canada, Lauderdale

The filing period for offices in municipalities without a primary election closed Tuesday, Aug. 12.

The cities of Little Canada and Lauderdale have identical openings on their ballots; each has a two-year mayoral term and two four-year term council terms up for election.

Little Canada

Voters in Little Canada will have a long list of city council candidates to choose from this fall, as seven people, all men, have filed for office.

Current council member Shelly Boss did not file for re-election; council member John Keis, whose seat is also set to expire at the end of the year, is running unopposed for mayor.

Current mayor Bill Blesener announced last month he would not be running for re-election after being involved in Little Canada's government for nearly 20 years.

In alphabetical order, the candidates for city council are: Tom Fischer, Jeff Heikke, Andrew Henderson, Jon Joriman, Kevin Keenan, Christian Torkelson and Rocky Waite.


Incumbent mayor Jeffrey Dains has filed for re-election as Lauderdale's mayor, and is running unopposed.

Both incumbent council members Mary Gaasch and Roxanne Grove have filed to retain their seats. Newcomer Jeremy Carr will also vie for one of the seats.


Look for more in-depth coverage of each of the candidates in an upcoming edition of the Review before the Nov. 4 general election.

For more information about the candidates, visit Ramsey County Elections online at

-- Johanna Holub


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here