Kline honors ‘Stars of the North’

submitted photo

South St. Paul Mayor Beth Baumann and Mayor’s Youth Task Force members Cole Spavin, Patrick Griffith, Jasmine Perez, Nicolas Kelley, Wyatt Lewis and Hannah Hoven received an award from Congressman John Kline March 11 in recognition of the 22,000 pounds of food the group collected in its recent community-wide food drive.

Kline honored Northern Dakota County residents with Congressional Certificates of Special Recognition at the seventh annual “Star of the North” ceremony at Kenwood Middle School in Lakeville.

South St. Paul residents Paul and Lynn Sansale also received an award designing and distributing calendars to raise $15,000 to train a service dog for a Minnesota veteran with post-traumatic stress disorder. The Sansales are already working on the 2014 Rescued Heroes calendar that will feature 12 rescued-turned service dogs that have been trained to help their owners manage PTSD symptoms.

Seven reserve officers with the Mendota Heights Police Department received an award for the combined 3,029 hours they volunteered in 2012. The reserve officers provide community event support, traffic control, jail and detox transports, and patrolling of parks and trails. One of the officers was given a lifetime achievement award for volunteering an estimated 13,000 hours over the past 45 years.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here